Modi sworn in for 3rd term as India’s Prime Minister

Daily News Egypt
3 Min Read

Narendra Modi, leader of the Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), has been sworn in as India’s Prime Minister for a third term on Sunday.

The ceremony took place at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the official residence of the Indian President, with thousands of guests in attendance, including leaders from neighbouring Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and the Maldives, though notably absent were representatives from Pakistan and China.

Modi’s BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) secured 293 seats in the general election, a narrower margin than exit polls had predicted. The election saw a significant resurgence of India’s opposition, which garnered 234 seats. I

In the 2024 general elections, the BJP alone secured 240 seats, with the NDA alliance reaching a majority of 293 seats. The Congress party won 99 seats, while the INDIA bloc amassed 234 seats.

During the inauguration, President Draupadi Murmu also swore in a new council of ministers. Modi’s 3.0 cabinet consists of 72 ministers, including 30 Cabinet Ministers, 5 Ministers of State with Independent Charge, and 36 Ministers of State. Key positions have been retained by top ministers, with multiple roles allocated to NDA allies.

In his address, Modi pledged to uphold the sovereignty and integrity of India, stating, “I will do right to all manner of people in accordance with the constitution and the law without fear or favour.” He emphasised his commitment to governing with “true faith and allegiance to the constitution.”

Security in Delhi was exceptionally tight, with the city declared a no-fly zone and over 2,500 police officers deployed around the venue.

International dignitaries attending the event included President Ranil Wickremesinghe of Sri Lanka, President Mohamed Muizzu of the Maldives, Vice-President Ahmed Afif of Seychelles, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina of Bangladesh, Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth of Mauritius, Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ of Nepal, and Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay of Bhutan.

Additionally, Egypt’s President Abdel Fattah Al-Sisi had earlier congratulated Modi on his re-election.

Following the swearing-in ceremony, the leaders attended a banquet hosted by President Murmu at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Modi’s historic third term marks him as only the second Indian leader to achieve this milestone, following the country’s first Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru.

Despite the BJP’s decline from its previous parliamentary majority, the NDA managed to form the government with crucial support from allies, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and Janata Dal (United) JD(U). On Friday, elected MPs voted Modi as the leader of the Lok Sabha, the BJP parliamentary party, and the NDA.


Share This Article
Leave a comment