Daily News Egypt

6 new members elected to Press Syndicate council - Daily News Egypt

Advertising Area

Advertising Area

6 new members elected to Press Syndicate council

Among winners was journalist Amr Badr, who was involved in syndicate’s crisis with the state

After the election of Abdel Mohsen Salama as the new president of the Press Syndicate on Friday, the syndicate announced six new winners of board council seats.

Amr Badr, the face of the syndicate’s crisis with the Ministry of Interior in May, became a member of the council. Badr had been detained for almost four months, following taking shelter at the syndicate after a continued pursuit for him by security personnel for publicly opposing the Egyptian-Saudi maritime border agreement.

Although Badr was released from custody, the former Press Syndicate president, Yehia Qallash, and two of his deputies, Gamal Abdel Rahim and Khaled El-Balshy, were tried against the backdrop of the case on charges of harbouring suspects.

As Qallash lost the elections to Abdel Mohsen Salama, Abdel Rahim was the only one of the three that made it to the council. The case against them is to witness a final verdict on 25 March.

Other winners included Hussein El-Zenaty, Mohamed Kharaga, and young members Mohamed Saad Abdel Hafiz and Ayman Abdel Megeed, replacing former council members also running in the elections Khaled El-Balshy, Hanan Fikry, Karem Mahmoud, and Osama Dawoud.

Advertising Area

Breaking News

No current breaking news