Egypt honours 3 recipients of 2020 Kwame Nkrumah Award for Scientific Excellence

Sami Hegazi
2 Min Read

Egypt’s Embassy in Addis Ababa and its permanent mission to the African Union (AU) has honoured three Egyptian scientists who were awarded the 2020 Kwame Nkrumah Award for Scientific Excellence.

The celebration was marked by a video conference event, in the presence of Dr Sarah Anyang, the AU Commissioner for Human Resources, Science and Technology.

The three award recipients were Salah Obayya, Fakiha El-Tayeb Haykal, and Ilham Ali.

Obayya is a Professor at Zewail University and the Founding Director of the Center for Photonics and Smart Materials. He has achieved many scientific breakthroughs in the field of nanotechnology and enabled the use of technology to reduce carbon emission rates.

Haykal is a Physical Chemistry Professor at Cairo University’s Faculty of Science, where she has a large number of academic and research achievements in this field. She is also on Stanford University’s list of the most important 2% of scientists in the world.

Ali is a Professor of Environment and Oceanography at Suez University, and Chair of the Department of Aquatic Environmental Sciences at the University. She is also a member of the International Panel for Climate Change (IPCC).

Egypt’s Ambassador to Addis Ababa Osama Abdel Khaleq applauded the Egyptian scholars, and stressed the need for continued Egyptian leadership in the fields of scientific research related to African development plans.

Anyang also praised the contributions to Africa of the award-winning Egyptian scholars in the fields of interest.

Share This Article