Egypt’s head of Press Syndicate announces he will not run for upcoming elections

Daily News Egypt
2 Min Read

The Head of the Press Syndicate, Abdel Mohsen Salama, announced in official statement on Thursday that he will not be running for the syndicate’s midterm elections, which are scheduled in March.

Salama, who is also the chairperson of Al-Ahram news organisation, has served as the head of the syndicate for two years.

Salama explained that his decision, which is abstaining from competing in the upcoming election, will allow him to focus on his duties as the chairperson of Al-Ahram, which employs around 50% of Egypt’s press institutions’ employees. He added that he is looking forward to cooperating with his successor, and the syndicate’s general assembly, and wished them success in their duties.

Furthermore, Salama mentioned some of the achievements which he accomplished during his term, stating that he succeeded in increasing the allowance of journalists from EGP 1,380 to EGP 1,680, and raised the pensions from EGP 1,150 to 1,450.

Last week, Salama announced signing a protocol with the ministry of military production in order to establish a journalists’ hospital at the Sixth of October City, according to local media. Also, an office for Egypt’s real estate was launched inside the syndicate, after an agreement with the ministry of justice was reached. Moreover, Salama commented on the establishment of the office during a previous televised interview, saying that it is an addition to many other achievements.

Salama was elected in March 2017 as the head of the Press Syndicate, following the former Head, Yehia Qallash. Salama received 2,457 votes, while his competitor, Qallash, received 1,890 votes.

Moreover, the former Head of the Press Syndicate, Diaa Rashwan, announced last week his intention to run in the upcoming election, and he is expected to announce his programme soon.

The committee supervising the election will start receiving the names of candidates starting from 10 February till 14 February in the afternoon. On 19 February, the final candidates will be announced.

Share This Article
Leave a comment