New heads elected for parliament’s special committees for 4th legislative round

Sarah El-Sheikh
2 Min Read

The parliament convened on Wednesday to elect the members who will head the parliamentary committees for the fourth legislative round, local media reported.

The election was conducted for the board of twenty-five committees. Parliament speaker seats and his two deputies do not enter these elections, as they are only elected once, at the beginning of the parliament’s five-year term.

Early on Wednesday, members of parliament submitted their nomination to the general secretariat of the council, as part of preparations of election committees.

The election results revealed the following: the head of human rights committee Alaa Abed, head of media and culture Osama Heikal, head of legislative and constitutional affairs Bahaa Abo Shoqa, head of religious affairs Osama El-Abd, head of suggestion committee Hamam Adly, remained in their posts for another consecutive round.

For the new heads, Karim Darwish was elected as head of the committee of foreign affairs, Ashraf Rashad as head of the youth and sports committee, Amr Sedki to head the committee tourism and aviation, Samy Hesham head of the education committee, and Ahmed Badawi as head of communication committee.

Also, Kamal Amer was elected as head of the defence and national security committee, Alaa Wally was elected as head of the housing committee, and Hesham Abdel Wahed was elected as head of the transport committee.

Each MP should elect a head, two deputies, and one secretary-general. Constitutional Article 117 stipulates that at the first meeting of each annual legislative round, the parliament has to elect from among its members, a head and two deputies for each committee for the full round. The elected ones cannot be elected for more than two consecutive legislative rounds.

Egypt’s parliament started the first session of its fourth legislative round on Tuesday after a two-month leave, following a presidential decree issued on Sunday ordering the parliament to start its fourth round.

Share This Article
Leave a comment