Egypt partakes in G20 Foreign Ministers meetings in New Delhi

Sami Hegazi
3 Min Read

The two-day G20 Foreign Ministers’ Meeting kicked off on Thursday in New Delhi with the participation of Egypt’s Foreign Minister Sameh Shoukry as a guest of the Indian chairmanship of the session.

Minister Shoukry will participate in two group working sessions on food and energy security, multilateral work and development cooperation, counter-terrorism, drawing the global skills map, humanitarian aid, and disaster relief.

He will also hold a number of bilateral meetings with his counterparts on the sidelines of the meeting.

Shoukry will participate in the work of the Raisina Dialogue held during the period from 2 to 4 March, where he will speak in a dialogue session entitled “From the Mediterranean to the Arabian Sea: a region of opportunities”, in addition to a dialogue session on climate change and a just transition.

This is one of the largest gatherings of foreign ministers hosted by any G20 presidency, Indian Foreign Secretary Vinay Mohan Kwatra said on Wednesday.

“The theme of India’s presidency is ‘Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam’ or ‘One Earth, One Family, One Future,” he said.

The Foreign Ministers’ meeting will focus on two-three principle sub-items– relating to multilateralism, on food and energy security, and on templates of development cooperation.

The second session will be on new and emerging threats, the challenges of countering terrorism, and narcotics; and on global skill mapping – how the G20 can pool efforts, focus on the global talent pool, and on Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Relief.

The agenda of the Foreign Ministers’ Meeting is also on the G20 priorities, which include inclusive and resilient growth, progress on SDGs, the rubric of green development and LiFE (Lifestyle for Environment), and tech transformation. This will include a full range of discussions on how G20 members can come together and contribute to public society, women-led development, etc.

The G20 members are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the UK, the US, and the EU.

Nine guest countries are participating: Bangladesh, Egypt, Mauritius, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Singapore, Spain, and the UAE. Besides, 13 international organizations are also participating.

Share This Article