CCCPA to chair AU Network of Think Tanks for Peace

Sami Hegazi
2 Min Read

The Cairo International Center for Conflict Resolution, Peacekeeping and Peacebuilding (CCCPA) has been chosen to chair the African Union Network of Think Tanks for Peace (NETT4PEACE) that was officially launched in a ceremony held at the African Union (AU) headquarters in Addis Ababa.

This comes in recognition of CCCPA’s remarkable contributions in the areas of peace and security as an AU Center of Excellence, reflecting Egypt’s key role in enhancing peace, security and stability both regionally and internationally. The Institute of Security Studies (ISS) from South Africa- was chosen as the vice chair of the network.

During the event, Ambassador Ahmed Abdel-Latif, Director General of CCCPA, highlighted the Network’s main objectives and priorities as discussed in its Strategy Group meetings previous to the launch. He indicated that NETT4PEACE will serve as a significant platform bringing together all think tanks working in the fields of peace and security in the African continent. He added that it aims to mobilize research related to peace and security in Africa with a view towards better informing relevant discussions within the framework of the AU, as regards the myriad of cascading risks the African continent is grappling with, on top of which comes terrorism. Ambassador Abdel-Latif expressed his appreciation to the AU Commissioner for Political Affairs, Peace and Security and the Network’s Strategy Group for choosing the CCCPA to undertake this important responsibility. He stressed on CCCPA’s unwavering commitment towards supporting the Network operationalization process. He also noted that one of the main objectives of the Network as regards closing the gap between research and policy is a central priority for both CCCPA and the Aswan Forum for Sustainable Peace and Development, for which the Center acts as the Secretariat. The Network launch ceremony witnessed the participation, as keynote speakers, of the Deputy Chairperson of the AU Commission, the AU Commissioner for Political Affairs, Peace and Security and representatives of development partners and missions accredited to the AU.

Share This Article