Culture Ministry announces State Awards 2020 winners

Daily News Egypt
3 Min Read

The Supreme Council of Culture held its 64th meeting, on Saturday, to vote for the 2020 State Awards winners. The meeting, chaired by Minister of Culture Inas Abdel-Dayem, took place at the Cairo Opera House.

The council members who are entitled to vote for the State Awards winners were limited to only 36 members. The state precautionary measures to curb the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) were also put in place during the meeting.

Since 1958, the prizes are granted in the fields of social science, arts, and literature, and are distributed across four divisions: the Encouragement Award, the Excellency Award, the Appreciation Awards, and the Nile Award – the highest honour.

The Ministry of Culture announced the winners for these awards as follows:

The Encouragement Award


Drawing: Hend Hassan Sayed

Porcelain: Mohamed Ahmed Hassan

Theatrical performance: Salwa Ahmed Mohamed

Designing costumes for theatre: Marwa Mohamed Saleh

Directing a long documentary: Mostafa Ashraf Ahmed


Critical Analysis of Literary Text: Reda Attia Iskandar

Poetry: Hatem Mohamed Abdel Halim

Novel: Ahmed Atallah Mohamed

Novel for children aged 9-15: Haitham Abd Rabo El Sayed

Translation: cancelled

Social Sciences

Sociology: cancelled

History: cancelled

Geography: Manal Samir Shalaby 

Philosophy and Psychology: Muhammad Mamdouh Ali

Youth: Fathi Muhammad Fathi

Book and Publishing: Nermin Abdul Qadir Imbabi

Environmental Culture: cancelled

Management Sciences: Ayman Al-Sayed Al-Bagouri

Economic and legal Sciences

Environmental economics: cancelled

Egyptian economy between independency and dependency: cancelled

Trade Laws and Private International Law: Haitham El-Sayed Ahmed

Popular Culture and the Principle of Equality and Non-Discrimination: Youssef Mohamed Wardani

The Excellence Award

Late director Mohsen Helmy and Dr Ahmed Ragab Mansour won Egypt’s Excellence Award in Art.

The Excellence Award in Social Sciences went to Ibrahim Al-Desouki Abdullah and Dr Anwar Hamid Ahmed.

In Literature, Dr Ahmed Mohamed Belboula and Dr Fawzi Mahmoud Ahmed won the Excellence Award.

The Appreciation Awards

Arts: Dr Hoda Wasfi and Dr Farouk Al-Jabali

Literature: Mohamed Lotfy Hassan, Yaqoub Ishaq Qalini, and Abdullah Abdel-Fattah Al-Tatawi

Social Sciences: El-Sayed Amin Shalaby, Sami Al-Sayed Abdel-Aziz, and Ahmed El-Sayed Ahmed

The Nile Award

Arts: Writer and director Lenin Al-Ramly

Literature: Professor of Folklore at Cairo University Ahmed Morsi

Social Sciences: Former Minister of Social Solidarity Jouda Abdel-Khalek

Arab Creators Award: Sudanese Artist Muhammad Omar Khalil.

Share This Article