UEFA announces candidates for 2020 Team of the Year, including Mo Salah 

Daily News Egypt
1 Min Read

The European Football Association (UEFA) has announced the nominees for its Team of the Year 2020.

The vote on the winners will take place through the Technical Monitoring Committee on the basis of their performance in continental competitions, including the European Champions League and the European League. It also takes into account their performance in local competitions within member federations between January and December 2020.

The list announced the selection of 50 players for the 2020 team including: Egypt and Liverpool star Mohamed Salah; Barcelona’s Lionel Messi; Italy and Juventus player Kylian Mbappe; Neymar de Silva of Paris Saint-Germain; and Kevin De Bruyne of Manchester City.

The official EU website has revealed that Cristiano Ronaldo has been nominated for the seventeenth year in a row. Over the course of his extensive career, he has participated in 14 Teams of the Year, including each of the last 13, all of which are records.

Lionel Messi has been nominated for the fifteenth time, and looks forward to making the team for the eleventh occasion. Sergio Ramos and Robert Lewandowski were each shortlisted for the ninth time.

Share This Article