Egypt’s Shehab Essam wins 2016 Arab Federation Squash Open

Maya Nawar
1 Min Read
Egypt's Shehab Essam wins 2016 Arab Federation Squash Open

Egyptian dominated the semifinals of the 2016 Arab Federation Squash Open, after four Egyptian players—Mohamed Reda, Shehab Essam, Karim El-Hammamy, and Mazen Gamal—moved forward.

In the final match, Essam defeated El-Hammamy, with scores of 11-9, 9-11, 9-11, 11-8, 11-9, and a final score of 3-2.

The tournament was held in Tanta and concluded its events two days ago. The prize money for the winner was $10,000.

Several Arab players participated in the tournament such as Jordanian Ahmed El-Saraj; Kuwaiti Ahmed Al-Mudhaf; Omani Jamal El-Barwani; and Iraqis Rasool Alsultani, Ahmed El-Kermli and  Husham Abdul Kareem Sabeh.

From Africa, South Africa’s Mostafa Asal; and Nigerians Adewale Amao and Moses Durosinmi were present.

Pakistan, India and Malaysia were presented by Assem Khan, Sandeep Ramachandran, and Muhd Asyraf Azan, respectively.

Europe also had its share as Swiss, Luca Wilhelmi, was among the players participating.

Share This Article
Leave a comment